Connect with us

FIFA World Cup 2010 Draw Seedings and Pots. England Seeded.

FIFA World Cup

FIFA World Cup 2010 Draw Seedings and Pots. England Seeded.

FIFA have announced the World Cup 2010 Final Draw procedure for tomorrow’s big even in Cape Town South Africa.

The seeded teams for the draw are:

Brazil, Spain, the Netherlands, Italy, Germany, Argentina, England and hosts South Africa.

The seeding was based on the October 2009 FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking.

The pots from which the other teams for each of the tournament’s first round groups will be drawn are as follows:

Pot 2 will be composed of teams from Asia (Australia, Japan, Korea DPR, Korea Republic), North, Central America and the Caribbean (Honduras, Mexico, USA) and Oceania (New Zealand)

Pot 3 will include teams from Africa (Algeria, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Nigeria) and South America (Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay)

Pot 4 will have the remaining European teams (Denmark, France, Greece, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Switzerland)


– Hosts South Africa will be automatically positioned as A1; the other seeded teams will be drawn into the other groups B-H, but will always be in position “1” of their group

– Groups will be drawn from A to H and the positions in the group will be drawn for Pots 2 to 4

– Geographical criteria will also be respected, meaning that no two teams from the same confederation will be drawn in the same group (except European teams, where a maximum of two will be in a group). For example, South Africa cannot play the African teams from Pot 3 and Argentina and Brazil cannot be drawn against the three remaining South American teams.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in FIFA World Cup

Popular This Week

To Top